Racing.

Image

I think I’m ready to get back in the game.

I’ve been living in NYC for a little over two years now and have not competed in one single race of any kind. After rowing at Michigan for four years with countless 5:00AM wake-up calls, grueling workouts in every type of cold weather imaginable, and formidable weight training plans worthy of the She-Hulk herself, I was not very gung-ho about making any sort of training commitments upon graduating. I remember dreaming, in between morning and afternoon practices, of when I would be able to amble over to the gym post-graduation and get my fitness on with no longterm goals, competitors, or championships in mind.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE to race. I loved rowing for my school and putting it all out there for my teammates. I lived for the thrill of passing other competitors and pushing for my own personal best. More recently, I am that girl on the treadmill who ups the speed a few notches so I’m running just a little bit faster than you – especially if said treadmill is at Barry’s Bootcamp. I just can’t help it – I like to win.

…Ok – I guess I can help it, but I don’t want to. That’s not me.

After two years of bumming around at various gyms, and spinning my life away at Flywheel Sports (more on that later), my inner racing goddess has had enough of my casual nonsense. “It’s time to beat some bitches.” – IRG

So here we go. I’ve decided that my first foray back into the racing scene will be the Rock ‘n’ Roll 10K on Saturday, October 13th at the Neathermead in Prospect Park, Brooklyn.

Here is a preemptive attempt to answer some obvious questions you may be asking yourself on my behalf:

  1. Have I ever run a 10K before?                            No.
  2. Have I gone on a run in the past 3 months?        No.
  3. Do I have a “runner’s body”?                              No.
  4. Do I own a great pair of running kicks.                No. (I’m working on it…)
  5. Am I going to kick some ass?                              Most definitely Yes.

More on my training plan to come, so stay tuned.

Forever wandering,

– Kristen

Racing.

Leave a Reply

