Hungry? My Amish Market food finds.

One of my favorite places in NYC to go grocery shopping is the Amish Market on 45th St. between 2nd & 3rd Ave. While I’m typically a Trader Joe’s girl, the quality and variety of unique, healthy, and specialty foods at the Amish Market can’t be beat.

If you’re curious about the name, some of the products still do come from Amish merchants in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Although I’ve yet to see a horse and buggy around these parts…

Amish Market ApplesThe produce section at the Amish Market is great – fresh, colorful, and varied. Apples are my all-time favorite, either McIntosh or Gala, so I tend to stock up on them when I’m here.

Amish Market CabbageThe strikingly green aloe vera leaves & cabbage caught my eye.

Amish Market Preserves, Jams, and Nut Butters

Every aisle is stocked to the brim with food you didn’t even know existed. Here’s the jam, preserves, and nut butters aisle…

Justin's Maple Almond Butter

I purchased some of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. It’s all-natural so you have to stir it before using, but it tastes divine. Perfect to eat a spoonful with an apple for a pre or post workout snack.

Coconut Water

As much as I try, I still can’t stand the taste of coconut water. Bleh!

Sunflower Bread

These pre-packaged natural breads stood out to me in the bakery nook. I rarely buy bread anymore because it tends to go bad before I can eat it all, so the smaller packaging was perfect. And come on, how could I resist trying bread made of sunflower seeds? In the basket it went.

Sprouted Brown Rice Pilaf

I’m not the most diligent (or skilled) cook. The pre-made food at the Amish Market makes dinner quick and delicious. I decided to try their sprouted brown rice & lentil pilaf and it didn’t disappoint. Apparently sprouted brown rice has greater nutritious “bang-for-your-buck” compared to regularly cooked rice and the nutrients are easier for your body to absorb as well. Tasty and good for me? I’ll take it.

Justin's Maple Almond Butter opened

Taste-testing my Amish Market finds is always the best part.

Sunflower Bread & Almond Butter

Sunflower seed bread + maple almond butter = post run perfection.

Thoroughly satisfied…but still wandering,

– Kristen

Hungry? My Amish Market food finds.

5 thoughts on “Hungry? My Amish Market food finds.

Leave a Reply

