10K training update – 15 days out.

My 10K training has been going pretty well so far. I have been following the training plan pretty closely, mixing my workouts up between runs and spin classes because I’ve found that cross training is the best way for me to avoid injuries. I may not know very much about running, but I do know that running injuries suck…a lot. So varying my workouts and making sure I stretch after every run have been my guiding principles the past few weeks.

In terms of the race itself, the Rock ‘n’ Roll team recently released the Brooklyn 10K course map. There will be 6 different live bands performing throughout the entire race and I’ll run past some of them a few times. I wonder what my splits will look like after running through the areas where the bands are playing…hopefully I will pick up the pace!

Brooklyn Rock 'n' Roll 10K Course Map

I will probably venture to Brooklyn one of these weekends to run on the course a bit just so I know what to expect. Only 15 days left…I can’t wait!

Forever wandering,

– Kristen

10K training update – 15 days out.

8 thoughts on “10K training update – 15 days out.

  1. BR says:

    Hey Kristen. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yours definitely makes me nostalgic for my days in NYC!

    Also, since you’re looking for interesting fitness adventures in the city, I’d suggest checking this out sometime: http://www.facebook.com/groups/10100276452/. It’s sort of an urban / adventure walking club a few of my friends are involved with. The website does a better job describing what it’s all about, but it’s pretty cool.

    Best of luck on your upcoming 10K!

    1. Hey Brian,

      Thank you for returning the favor and stopping by my blog! I will definitely look into the urban adventure walking club – I bet I could get some really cool pictures on those walks. And thank you for the well wishes for my 10K! I will be sure to post about how it goes.

      – Kristen

  2. I am all signed up for this, but I have to bail because of training for the marathon, I will be in the same park though doing my 15 – 18 mile run…. so if I see you – I will cheer extra loud for you! Good luck Saturday! It should be a fun run!

    1. Kristen Henkels says:

      Oh my goodness, so exciting! That stinks you won’t be racing with me, but please do cheer if you spot me. I’ll cheer you on as well since you will be running 3 times further as me 😉 Thanks for the luck, and best wishes for your long run!

      – Kristen

      1. xahndra says:

        Thanks Kristen!!! We’ll cheer each other on 🙂 Nice to meet you! I am following your blog now. Can’t wait to hear more about your upcoming runs and races!

      2. Kristen Henkels says:

        Nice meeting you too Xahndra, and thanks for the follow. Followed you back so I can stay updated on your marathon training…the big day is quickly approaching! Keep kicking butt.

        – Kristen

  3. Hi Kristen and thanks for stopping by my blog … 11 posts in and enjoying the trip!

    I see you’re training in Prospect Park … my friend Emma (British Expat living in Brooklyn) has just started a beginners running course that sees her training on a Saturday and Wednesday. If as you fly by you happen to see a puffed out English Rose, be sure to say hi!!!

    I’m off to read your back story.

    Janice

Leave a Reply

