Weekly wanderings…September 24th-30th

Here’s a hodgepodge of wanderings from the past week:

1. She’s Flying! (or Falling With Style)

Mom diving off the high dive

I recently found this picture from the 70’s of my mom looking infinitely graceful and athletic going off of the high dive at a public pool in Gering, Nebraska – confirming my suspicions that she is indeed, Superwoman. Thanks mom, for teaching me to swim, encouraging me to compete, and doggedly reminding me to point my toes whenever possible.

2. Avocado & Sunflower Seed Bread

Avocado spread

Luckily, the avocado I bought earlier in the week from Grand Central Market was perfectly ripe when I pulled it out of the fridge. Spread like butta’ on the last bit of sunflower seed bread I had left from last week’s Amish Market expedition. Monosaturated fat never looked (or tasted) so good.

3. 5.5 miles, 7.37/mile pace

Nike+ 5.5 mile run

KB-ed (Kicked Butt, obviously) on my Saturday morning 5.5 mile run. You can check out my route along the East River running path here.

I surprisingly averaged 7.37/mile pretty comfortably. In my opinion, I think I’ve improved my pace in such a short amount of time because I’ve actually been running less and cross-training more. Working different muscle groups + interval training on the spin bike = reduced risk of injury/overtraining + killer cardio endurance. Only two weeks left until race day! I can’t wait.

4. East River Running Path

NYC East River running path

Between avoiding fisherman casting their lines and dodging renegade cyclists who enjoy party crashing the running path, jogging along the East River is an adventure more often than not. Without fail, I have to duck under the random wheat stalks pictured above in the midst of my run around 34th St. I suppose this route has yet to be boring!

5. Full Moon

Full moon over Brooklyn

I went for a quick walk along the East River on Sunday evening and was fortunate enough to have caught the full moon on its upward ascent over the Long Island City skyline. It was an unexpected and beautiful way to end the weekend.

More wanderings soon,

– Kristen

 

Weekly wanderings…September 24th-30th

8 thoughts on “Weekly wanderings…September 24th-30th

    1. Kristen Henkels says:

      Thank you! I hope I can run as fast this weekend at my 10K…I just bought some new shoes so hopefully that helps.

      And I love that picture of my mom too, it looks like she is flying over the mountains 🙂

  1. Hi Kristin, I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog entries. You write with humor, take really great photos, and it looks like you run pretty fast, too. I think you are going to kick butt this weekend at the 10K. Thanks for taking a look at my blog.
    Frank

    1. Kristen Henkels says:

      Hi Frank,

      Thank you so much for the encouragement! I am really looking forward to my first 10K this weekend, and I’ll be sure to blog about it – as long as you keep blogging about your marathon training 🙂

      Thanks for reading!
      – Kristen

    1. Kristen Henkels says:

      Thank you! My Uncle Mike took that photo in 1978. It is one of my all-time favorites. And my mom still has some pretty sweet moves off the diving board – although I don’t think she’s ventured near a high dive too recently.

      Thanks for reading!
      – Kristen

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Less than 8 min/mile pace, you will kick ass in the 10K, no doubt. Perhaps I should have done some cross training to boost up speed for my upcoming race like you did. And nice moon shot!

    1. Hey sephiroth796,

      Thanks for checking out my blog as well and for the words of encouragement – I hope I can average a sub-8 mile pace for my 10K this weekend. It’s awesome that you got to run in Madrid, I bet that was wild. And good luck with the rest of your training for the marathon, you’re going to do awesome!

      – Kristen

Leave a comment