Weekly Wanderings…October 15th-21st

Hey all,

I’m a bit late in posting my wanderings, but here they are! While last week started off a tad rainy and gross in NYC, we were lucky enough to have amazing Fall running weather this past weekend. Rain or shine, I still managed to wander:

1. Sensational strawberry oatmeal smoothie

Strawberry smoothie

Here’s another super simple smoothie recipe I tested out last week. It takes about 2 minutes to make and is especially handy for those mornings that you happen to oversleep and are running late for work (not to say that Ever happens to me!…)

Strawberry Banana Oatmeal Smoothie

  • 1/4 cup uncooked oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup milk (I prefer almond milk)
  • 7 strawberries, cut up (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 tbsp honey (optional)

Add all ingredients to a blender, blend until smooth, and enjoy!

Nutrition Facts - Strawberry Oatmeal Smoothie

2. Ezekiel 4:9 pasta

Sprouted Grain Pasta - Ezekiel 1

Another week, and yet another interesting Amish Market food find. This week I discovered Ezekiel 4:9 sprouted grain pasta. Sprouting grains unlocks nutrients that would otherwise remain dormant, and cooking and baking with these grains results in a bevy of benefits, including:

  • Increased Digestibility
  • Increased Absorption of Minerals
  • Increased Antioxidants
  • Increased Vitamin C
  • Increased Vitamin B

While it’s kind of difficult for the layperson (like me) to measure the above health claims of sprouted grain products, the key takeaway I gleaned from my pasta dish was that I did not feel like crap after eating it. For the most part I have stopped cooking pasta since I graduated from college two years ago because it typically upsets my stomach. However now that I’ve been running and training more, I needed to find an easy and relient way to incorporate more carbs into my diet.

While the Ezekiel pasta is not “gluten-free”, it was much easier on my stomach and it tastes good too. I will definitely be searching out more sprouted grain products in the near future.

3.Ā Running weather – Central Park

Central Park Running

Here’s a shot of Central Park featuring the amazing Fall weather we had this past weekend. Hopefully this good weather stays with us – I am not looking forward to bundling up to run any time soon.

4. Patiently waiting

Patient bike

I caught this shot while waiting at a red light on Lexington Ave and 42nd St. I love the orange glow reflected off of the bike. Someday soon I too will gather the courage to ride my bike through NYC traffic…*gulp*.

5.Ā If I only had a…brain!

Pumpkin Scarecrow

I was really getting into the Fall spirit this weekend, in part due to the fantastic weather. Here’s a cute Jack O’ Lantern/Scarecrow hybrid I picked up at Duane Reade. I hope it didn’t scare my roommate too much when she first saw it!

Forever Wandering,

– Kristen

Weekly Wanderings…October 15th-21st

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wanderings…October 15th-21st

  1. So you tried the strawberry oatmeal smoothie before I got the chance! How was it? And I want that Tin Man glass. Is fall the time for Wizard of Oz? You had a squarecrow, a tin man, and courage… hmm, where’s Toto?

    1. Hey Marathonmasochist,

      The strawberry oatmeal smoothie was great. I actually just bought some frozen strawberries so my smoothies will be a bit icier. I also had the same thought about the Wizard of Oz theme…totally coincidental! Unfortunately no Toto…I need to work on that.

      – Kristen

  2. OMG, I love Ezekiel and had no idea they made pasta! I will keep my eyes peeled. šŸ™‚ Great picture of Central Park (I have yet to run there; it’s wayyy uptown from me), and that bike is awesome. What kind of bike do you have, Kristen? I have to ride my roadbike in traffic to get to the West Side Highway bike path, which is pretty nerve-wrecking to say the least.

    1. Hey Carrie,

      You should definitely try running in Central Park, it is so nice! Although I still seem to get lost whenever I do… I have a Specialized Tarmac (I don’t remember the exact model), it’s actually at my parent’s house in NJ – I have yet to bring it to my apartment since I moved from my other one. It’s on my list to ride on the West Side Highway bike path!

      – Kristen

  3. marathonvrgin says:

    You should try brown rice pasta. I actually prefer to Ezekiel products because the texture is less dense. Brown rice tortillas are also great (made by Food For Life, same brand as Ezekiel). They’re light and flaky and very filling.

Leave a Reply

