Weekly Wanderings…October 29th-November 4th

Hello All,

It’s been a long week! Hurricane Sandy definitely took the city by storm but I’m glad to say that NYC knows how to take a punch and it bounced right back. That being said, there are still areas, especially Staten Island and the Jersey Shore region, in which cleanup and rebuilding will take months. If you’d like to make a donation to help those affected by Hurricane Sandy, you can click here: American Red Cross Disaster Relief Effort.

American Red Cross LogoWhile Sandy took the wind out of my sails a bit (seems a little counterintuitive…), I still managed some wanderings this week. Here’s a view of what I’ve been up to besides reading my Twitterfeed via iPhone by candlelight:

1. It’s UNREAL (Candy)

UNREAL Candy

So this past week was Halloween, aka Candy Overload-oween. Thankfully I discovered UNREAL Candy at CVS, which is a new brand of candy that does not use any artificial ingredients, hydrogenated oils, trans fats, GMOS, or corn syrup. So although I was still ingesting unhealthy amounts of sugar while waiting out the storm, at least I avoided all of the crazy weird chemicals used to create everyone’s favorite Hershey & Nestle varieties.

The backstory behind the UNREAL brand is pretty interesting and it all started with a sack of confiscated Halloween candy, go figure:

Unreal Candy backstory

So pretty much this 13-year old kid named Nicky (with his highly-connected, serial-entrepreneur Father who founded the digital ad-firm Digitas and financial-rewards company Upromise) set out to “unjunk” candy while still keeping it tasting great. Let me tell you – Nicky & Co. succeeded. You can read more about the UNREAL story here.

Oh, and Gisele, Tom Brady, Matt Damon, and Jack Dorsey all Love UNREAL candy. How’s that for an endorsement?:

I taste-tested a few of the different varieties: the healthier, less-junky dopplegangers for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, Milky Way, and M&M’s. While the peanut butter cup counterpart didn’t blow my mind, the Milky Way and M&M’s did. They were BETTER than the originals. I better you didn’t see that coming. I think it’s because UNREAL uses pretty high-quality ingredients. The M&M’s were my favorite, they were super rich & creamy – maybe from the cocao butter they use?

Unreal Candy M&Ms

UnReal candy M&Ms nutrition info

While candy is still candy and not in fact healthy, sometimes you just need a sugar fix. I highly suggest reaching for some UNREAL candy the next time your sweet tooth beckons.

2. Rawr. Cave Bear skeleton New York is brimming with local oddities. I thought this one in particular was quite relevant for the Halloween season. I frequently walk past this skeleton of Ursus Spelaeus (Cave Bear) from the Pleistocene period (2,588,000 to 11,700 years ago) located in the window of Astro Gallery of Gems on the corner of 34th and Madison. Random, right? You would think this beast would be pretty hard to miss, but I wonder how many people actually notice it when they walk past?

3. A Very Muscly Halloween Black Milk muscle tights Halloween

I actually celebrated Halloween last Friday before Sandy hit and have just got around to posting about it. I was “Bodies – The Exhibition“, like the exhibit located at the South Street Seaport. While the Black Milk “muscle” tights are a tad…revealing, they felt awesome to wear and I got a few pretty good reactions out of them. If not on Halloween, then when? I go to all of those spin classes for a reason ha.

4. Post-Sandy Breakfast of Champions  Cafe Delectica Menu post-Sandy

My go-to spot for breakfast on the weekends is Cafe Delectica on 38th and 3rd. Not only is it super close to my apartment, but the food is high quality, pretty healthy, and reasonably priced. It has a very relaxed vibe and there are always a ton of regulars chit-chatting away over some coffee. This past weekend I was delighted to find that Cafe Delectica opened up shop despite only getting power back late Saturday night. As a result, their menu was extremely limited but this made me branch out and try something new.

7grain avocado chipotle omelette sandwich

I typically order the omelette sandwich on toasted 7-grain bread with tomato, avocado slices, and a dash of chipolte mayo. It is to DIE for.

Granola and Oatmeal breakfast - Cafe Delectica

Instead I tried their hot oatmeal bar and amped it up with some toppings – slivered almonds, blueberries, and some granola. Perhaps not as savory, but still a very hearty way to start Sunday morning. Did I mention that their orange juice is fresh-squeezed? Best I’ve ever had – I highly recommend it.

5. Wasted Time Wasted time can't be recycled

Words of wisdom to glean for passerbys like me. Reminded me of the importance of setting measurable goals for myself and going after them.

Cheers to a brand new week.

Forever wandering,

– Kristen

Weekly Wanderings…October 29th-November 4th

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wanderings…October 29th-November 4th

  1. pickyrunner says:

    I’ve been wanting to try that candy! This makes me want to try it even more!!
    Love the halloween costume- such a unique idea!

Leave a Reply

