Sweet tooth silencer – Cooper St. Cookies (with love, from Michigan)

So I have to admit, I have a bit of a sweet tooth. Ice cream, cookies, cake, chocolate…you name it, I probably crave it.  Unfortunately for me, studies upon studies are showing that sugar is pretty much the worst thing that people can eat for long term health. (If you haven’t read the NY Times article, Is Sugar Toxic?, I highly recommend it. It offers a very eye-opening perspective on the sugary sweet stuff).

Is Sugar Toxic?

While I definitely enjoy the occasional decadent dessert, I’ve been trying to pay a bit more attention to the amount of sugar I consume on a daily basis. It’s now my mission to find ways to have my cake and eat it too – without the accompanying sugar rush.

Here’s my first sweet tooth-silencing discovery: Cooper St. Cookies

Cooper St. Cookies is a small, family-owned company founded in Michigan in 2010 that is rapidly expanding its sales to grocery and health food stores across the nation. After the founder, Max Surnow, graduated from Michigan State University he decided to transition his cookie-making hobby into a full fledged business with help from his mom, Elaine.

Max and Elaine use an old mandel bread recipe that has been in their family for generations and offer a range of flavors including Lemon Poppyseed, Cinnamon Chocolate Chip, Orange Cranberry, Oatmeal Raisin, and Keylime Coconut. The flavors are pretty exciting as far as biscotti-like cookies go and they all taste great. While these cookies look a lot like biscotti, the texture is a bit softer so you don’t have to chip your teeth when biting into one – definitely a plus.

Michigan love

I lived in Michigan for four years for college, and while the state has recently gone through some really tough times, native Michiganders are the nicest, most genuine people that you will ever meet. So not only are these cookies delicious and on the healthier side, but they are homegrown in a great state by great people.

Keylime Coconut Nutrition Facts

Above are the nutrition facts for the Keylime Coconut flavor. At only 110 calories and 8g of sugar, it’s a much better choice to chow down on a serving of these cookies with some coffee than compared to say…a Starbucks cake pop, or something of that nature. (Ok I’ll admit I’ve eaten a Starbucks cake pop before, but it was free so I couldn’t resist!)

Below are some pics from a recent trip to the Amish Market (I think I need to start diversifying my wanderings a bit…) Enjoy!

Cooper St. Cookies
Cooper St. Cookies at the Amish Market in NYC.
Cooper St. Cookies - Oatmeal Raisin
Oatmeal Raisin goodness. Look at that texture!
Cooper St. Cookies - Lemon Poppyseed
Lemon Poppyseed golden perfection.
Cooper St. Cookies - Sam Surnow
Sam Surnow, Max’s brother, reppin’ Cooper St. Cookies in the NYC Amish Market.
Cooper St. Cookies - Keylime Coconut box
After taste-testing a few samples, I decided to take home the Keylime Coconut variety and was not disappointed.
Cooper St. Cookies - Keylime Coconut
Keylime Coconut, fresh out of the box.
Cooper St. Cookies - Keylime Coconut
The cookies pair perfectly with some jasmine mint tea. The consistency of the cookies are hearty enough that if you are compelled to dip them in tea, the cookie doesn’t disintegrate like typical biscotti sometimes does.
Cooper St. Cookies - Keylime Coconut and Jasmine Green Tea
Sweet tooth satisfied.

I highly recommend you check these cookies out if you’re trying to keep your sugar cravings at bay. They’re delicious, low-cal, and the product of a great small business. Let me know what you think!

Forever wandering,

– Kristen

Sweet tooth silencer – Cooper St. Cookies (with love, from Michigan)

5 thoughts on “Sweet tooth silencer – Cooper St. Cookies (with love, from Michigan)

  1. I’ve lived in Michigan now for six years and had never heard of these cookies until now. Of course, I will now have to hunt them down. There’s nothing wrong with a sweet tooth. 🙂

    1. Hey Dan – who knows, maybe someday soon Cooper St. Cookies will be sold in the UK. Until then, I’m sure there are other delicious cookies across the pond to satisfy your sweet tooth!

      – Kristen

  2. I hear you on having a well-developed sweet tooth. It’s a constant battle to satiate my desire for sugar without crashing in a wilted heap on the floor afterwards. Hopefully I can find those Cooper St. cookies you like so much. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a comment